Assessment Certifies Compliance of C-TPAT

What is C-TPAT?

Official logo of CBP's C-TPAT program
 Official logo of CBP’s C-TPAT program

C-TPAT stands for Customs-Trade Partnership Against Terrorism. This is a voluntary logistics and supply chain partnership program, developed by US Customs and Border Protection (CBP), promulgated in November 2001 with the goal of improving US border security.

C-TPAT certification binds main stakeholders in the international trade and logistics chain including: importers, exporters, carriers, manufacturers, … C-TPAT is a measure in the strategy CBP’s multi-layered cargo control enforcement strategy to address potential terrorism and security breaches from imported shipments.

Official logo of CBP’s C-TPAT program

Benefits of participating and being certified compliance of the C-TPAT

  • Reduce the number of examinations and wait times at the border for imported shipments.
  • C-TPAT compliant importers will be eligible for going into (FAST) clearance flows at the border of Canada and Mexico, as well as eligible for participating in the Importer Self-Assessment Program (ISA).
  • Enhance effective self-monitoring of your cargo security activities through compliance with C-TPAT requirements
  • Shorter inventory cycle times due to more efficient supply chains
  • Incorporation of good security practices and procedures into existing logistics management methods and processes.
Photo: CBP’s supervision of imported shipments

Requirements to participate in C-TPAT

To comply with the requirements of the C-TPAT, businesses must be able to meet certain security, privacy, and safety requirements. CBP sets forth different requirements that correspond to certain industries and the role the business plays in the industry.

  1. Air Carriers
  2. Highway Carriers
  3. Long Haul Highway Carriers in Mexico
  4. Rail Carriers
  5. Sea Carriers
  6. Consolidators (Air Freight Consolidators, Ocean Transport Intermediaries, and Non-Vessel Operating Common Carriers (NVOCC))
  7. Customs Brokers
  8. Exporters
  9. Foreign Manufacturers
  10. Importers
  11. Marine Port Authority and Terminal Operators
  12. Third Party Logistics Providers (3PL)

CBP’s information about the C-TPAT program can be found at:

Certification steps to certify C-TPAT compliance

Step 1: Conduct a review of the current status of documents and conditions ensuring actual cargo security to ensure full compliance with the requirements of C-TPAT.

Step 2: Submit an application form for assessing and certifying compliance to CGLOBAL (voluntary assessment program)

Step 3: CGLOBAL conducts an assessment of the enterprise’s compliance with the C-TPAT’s requirements according to the checklists and assessment reports established by CGLOBAL.

Step 4: CGLOBAL grants “Certificate of compliance to C-TPAT” to businesses that fully meet the C-TPAT’s requirements according to checklists and assessment reports established by CGLOBAL.

Step 5: Enterprises provide “Certificate of compliance to C-TPAT” to customers and partners to prove compliance and register to participate in the membership program of US Customs and Border Protection. Period (CBP) if needed.


CGLOBAL is a certification and inspection body headquartered in the United States (in California and North Carolina, United States) and therefore we understand and comply with legal requirements of the US government.

Certification of Compliance of the C-TPAT is CGLOBAL’s voluntary assessment program that ensures objectivity and full compliance with the C-TPAT’s requirements due to auditors with experience and competence that meet ISO 19011.

5/5 (1 Review)
5/5 (1 Review)